Hello world!

“The reading of all good books is like conversation with the finest men of the past centuries.”

– Descartes

I am a reader.  I read when I was a child, to the point that I would not hear my parents call me to dinner or my teachers call on me for an answer.  I read in high school the books that were assigned as well as dozens more.  In college I was sad because I couldn’t take more English classes and read more books, so I took history and humanities and philosophy and read those books.  After teaching for thirteen years, I am now a librarian, so I get to be around books all the time.  Back in the States after nine years abroad, I am surrounded by books and a literary culture, as well as technology and social groups that bond by reading.  I created this blog to celebrate the books that I read and to discuss with others that eternal questions, “what makes a good book?’.  I hope there is no end to that discussion.

Leave a Reply

